The Women's College Club of Princeton NJ


May 21, 2018 General Meeting and Annual Luncheon and Board Members Annual Election

May 21, 2018 (1:00 p.m. at Windrows-Nassau Room) (12 noon-1 pm for members and their guests Annual Lunch and Board Members Annual Election–lunch MENU)

WCCP-ZumbrunnPhotoThe Great American Songbook is a term that generally refers to those melodies and lyrics from the 20s through the 60s–pop tunes, stag musicals, movies which have been handed down from generation to generation and have stood the test of time.  It is a little known fact that many of our enduring music  classics of Tin Pan Alley were  written by WOMEN.

Dr. Karen Zumbrunn presented the background on some of the amazing women who broke into what was very much a man’s world. Selections included:  “Fine and Dandy”, “Don’t Blame Me”, “Just in Time”, and many others. This entertaining and informative program included Dr. Z at the piano and voice, and the audience participated as well.

  1. Lullaby of the Leaves by Bernice Petkere
  2. Fine and Dandy by Kay Swift
  3. Willow Weep for Me by Ann Ronnell
  4. On the Sunny Side of the Street; The Way You Look Tonight, and Pick Yourself Up by Dorothy Fields (audience joined in the singing)
  5. Besame Mucho by Consuelo Velazquez
  6. Twilight World by Marian McPartland (CD available)
  7. Make Someone Happy by Betty Comden
  8. Witchcraft by Carolyn Leigh
  9. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love by Dorothy Fields (audience joined in)

Dr. Zumbrunn has degrees from Ohio State (B.A and M.A) Harvard (Ed.M) and a PhD from The University of California at Berkeley.  She studied at the Sorbonne and L’Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris where she performed at the “Blue Note” in Paris and recorded with the International Stars of Jazz in Rome.  Dr. Zumbrunn performs widely in the area. She has two CDs, SNOWFALL and TWILIGHT WORLD. –Barbara Johnson

(Photos taken by Nora Ananos)
AnnualLuncheon2018_0100-ClubPresident-F.Begun. AnnualLuncheon2018_0106-Windrows Nassau Room
AnnualLuncheon2018_0108-participants AnnualLuncheon2018_0110-Members and Guests
AnnualLuncheon2018_0111-attendees AnnualLuncheon2018_0113:ClubPresident-F.Begun, & Nominating Committee Chair-D.Tazelaar.
AnnualLuncheon2018_0117-installation of  2018-2019 Executive Board:M.Gordon, K.Hutchins, G.Culin, C.Stawski, N.Lifland, M.Giordmaine. AnnualLuncheon2018_0129-members and their guests.
AnnualLuncheon2018_0131-attendees. AnnualLuncheon2018_0133-attendees.
AnnualLuncheon2018_0134: B.Johnson Program Chair introducing speaker. AnnualLuncheon2018_0136: General Meeting program-presenter Dr. Karen Fanta Zumbrunn.
AnnualLuncheon2018_0140: Dr. Karen Fanta Zumbrunn- AnnualLuncheon2018_0146: Dr. Karen Fanta Zumbrunn at the piano.-
AnnualLuncheon2018_0149: AnnualLuncheon2018_0156-raffle
AnnualLuncheon2018_0157-raffle winner-M.Matthews. AnnualLuncheon2018_0159-raffle winner.
AnnualLuncheon2018_0162: newly elected Club President Kathy Hutchins thanking out-going President F. Begun.

(Photo taken by Kathy Hutchins)


This entry was posted on May 24, 2018 by in Uncategorized.