The Women's College Club of Princeton NJ


Scholarship Committee Annual Report 2012

The Committee Chair, Kathleen Hutchins, and Dee Cantrell, Danuta Buzdygan, and Janet Reiche, interviewed forty young women from The Hun School (5), Princeton Day School (6), Princeton High School (18), and Stuart Country Day School (11). The Committee awarded scholarships to 10 of them, two from Princeton Day School, two from Stuart Country Day School, and six from Princeton High School.

The Florence Bell Hillier Award went to Chrislyn Choo of Princeton High School; The Mollie Curtis Award went to Lena Sun of Princeton High School; and the Harriett Peterson Book Award/Women’s College Club Scholarship went to Jessie Chen of Princeton High School.  The Present Day Club awarded its scholarship to Chloe Shumaker of Princeton High School. The following Women’s College Club scholarships were awarded to: Gloria Vazquez of Princeton High School, Lindsay Barber of Princeton High School, Toni Stradford of Stuart Country Day School, Amethyst Carey of Stuart Country Day School, Vasiliki Maragoudakis of Princeton High School, and Annie Nyce of Princeton Day School.

The scholarships and awards were presented to the recipients at a scholarship tea at the home of member Virginia Mason on Wednesday, May 23rd. Present were members of the club, the recipients and their families as was Barbara Purnell, President of the Present Day Club, and Robert Hillier. Members of the Club provided refreshments and Kathleen Enquist of the Present Day Club was the official photographer.

As chair of the Committee, I would like to note again that Rosemary Barratt, a current member and former President of the Club, provided the certificates and calligraphy for the award ceremony. That effort provides a great service to the Committee and the Club.


This entry was posted on May 25, 2012 by in Scholarship Committee Annual Report.